Wesleyan honors faculty with endowed chairs

During Wesleyan College’s Fall Convocation Thursday, August 22, 2019, Provost Melody Blake announced that six faculty members have been honored with endowed chairs. The administration selects honorees based on years of service in their discipline, excellence in the classroom, and consistent scholarly production.

“An endowed chair is an honor bestowed on faculty for their excellence in teaching, scholarship, and service. The College is extremely proud of the work that our faculty accomplish in the classroom. The six receiving these honors are some of Wesleyan’s best,” said Provost Blake.

Wesleyan extends congratulations to:

Dr. Holly Boettger-Tong, professor of biology, Storza Chair of Excellence in Teaching

Dr. Saralyn DeSmet, professor of modern languages, Banks Chair of Language and Literature

Dr. Melanie Doherty, associate professor of English, Rufus K. and Jane Mulkey Green Chair of English

Dr. Deidra Donmoyer, professor of communication, Knox Chair of Humanities

Dr. James Rowan, professor of psychology, Clara Carter Acree Chair of Social Sciences

Dr. Virginia Wilcox ’90, associate professor of Education, Alumnae Chair of Education

About Wesleyan College

Wesleyan draws a wonderfully eclectic mix of women – about 700 in all – from across the United States and more than twenty countries, bringing to campus a multitude of backgrounds and ethnicities. Wesleyan students choose to study here because they want to test their limits. The bar is set high because our students demand it. First for Women isn’t just a claim to fame - it’s a philosophy that explains why Wesleyan women continue to make history today.  Read More


Wesleyan College © 2019 All Rights Reserved