top of page

Students, faculty, and staff recognized on Honors Day

Wesleyan College held its annual Honors Day on April 22, 2020. This event honors faculty, staff, and students for their work in the classroom as well as on campus. Usually held in Pierce Chapel, this year’s event was held with over 200 members of Wesleyan’s family streaming the event live from their devices all over the country in order to practice social distancing during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Senior Katherine Ann Fitts received the highest student-nominated honor, Wesleyan Student of the Year. The award is based on three principal traits: leadership, dedication to the Wesleyan Community, and friendship to others. Katie Ann is a Corn Scholar from Columbus, Georgia, majoring in business administration and management. She served as SGA president her senior year, as class president her junior year, and as a member of the Wesleyan Wolves soccer team for four years. In the fall, Katie Ann is looking forward to beginning her career.

Senior Kristen Kelley was honored as Wesleyan Student of Success, awarded each year to a junior or senior who stands out in academics, community service, and extracurricular activities. In the fall, Kristen, a biology major/neuroscience minor from Atlanta, Georgia, will be working as a medical scribe at an Atlanta-area hospital before entering medical school.

Jill Amos ’87, director of disability and advocacy services, was honored with the SGA Faculty/Staff Workhorse Award and, for the fourth consecutive year, Tonya Parker ’01, assistant dean for equity and inclusion, was honored as SGA Staff Member of the Year. Two Presidential Staff Awards were honored - Dionne George, director of residence life and Jan Tedders ’08, systems administrator.

Faculty award winners included Professor of Biology Holly Boettger-Tong, Ph.D., SGA Professor of the Year; Associate Professor of Accounting Kara Kostiuk, Ann Munck Award for Excellence in Teaching; Assistant Professor of Psychology Holly Cole, Ph.D., Quillian Distinguished Teaching Award; and Associate Professor of History Nick Steneck, Ph.D., Vulcan Teaching Excellence Award.

Kayleigh Buie was honored as the first recipient of the Glenna Dod Meyer Award. Established in 2020 by the Department of Business & Economics, this award honors Dr. Meyer upon her retirement this May from Wesleyan College after 30 years of teaching, and is awarded to a rising senior in the department of business and economics. The recipient is chosen on the basis of character and academic achievement.



bottom of page